Song Devotional: Get Your Weight Up

Resist sin, resist sin, that’s a constant repetition

Quitting is not an option

Run the race until it’s finished

(Hold up)Wait minute I just had an epiphany

I can’t get my weight up if I don’t have no consistency

I’ll let you have that tip for free, I hope you won’t ignore it

Sin separates from God like the phone jack on a cordless” ~ K-Drama

This song is so simple and straight forward, yet the Christian world tends to push this aspect of God to the side. Everyone wants to partake in God’s mercy and grace, but not of His holiness. This song puts the life of a Christian in the light of weight training. Just like someone lifting weight, you gain muscle and strength by consistent repetition of lifting weights. In order to take the next step and lift more, you have to have started with a small amount of weight, then slowing work your way up to the heavy weights. You can’t lift heavy weights until you have built that strength. You just can’t do it. It’s impossible. Now look how this parallels in your walk with Christ.

When you start a relationship with God, your spiritual maturity is low. That’s not a bash or discouragment, it’s just the truth. It’s a reality that everyone pursuing God starts with. God gives us baby food (spiritually) to start off with.

I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it.” ~ 1 Corinthians 3:2

But sooner or later God expects us to grow up and eat solid adult food (again, spiritually). There is a point in your walk with God that He will expect you to know His Word, obey His commands, and make every effort that you can possibly make to better your relationship with HIm.

“Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness. But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil”. ~Hebrews 5:13-14

In order to grow spiritually with God, you must know the teachings of Christ and follow them. Not just know them, you MUST follow them. God wants holy followers, not immoral followers. He wants faithful children, not adulterous children. Christ has made us holy once and for all, but we must LIVE holy. God does not live our lives for us. Sin seperates us from God. When we come to Christ, but willingly persist in our sin, we have no security of salvation any longer.

For if we go on sinning willfully after recieving the knowledge of the truth, there no longer remains a sarifice for sins, but a terrifying expectation of judgment and the fury of a fire which will consume the adversaries.” ~ Hebrews 10:26-27

As you can see, God is serious about sin. It’s not a game. Grace is not a license for sin. When God says “Be Holy, because I am holy”, He means it. When we know full well and have accepted the salvation Jesus has give to us, yet persist in sin, we “trample under foot”(Hebrews 10:29) the blood of Christ. That literally means that you stomp on, spit on, wipe your feet on the blood of Christ. That’s a scary thought to even think of, yet that’s what the Bible says we do when we persist in sin after coming to the truth of Christ.

I hope this devotion helps someone. I know this is something that has come to surface in my own life and I feel God wants others to understand this as well. So resist and flee from sin, because as K-Drama says, “Muscles don’t come without resistance“.

“When I press towards God I press away sin. Sin is the weight and I’m bench pressing.”

 

 

-Joey

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

One response to “Song Devotional: Get Your Weight Up

Leave a Reply

