What is the way of Salvation?

Over my three years of studying Bible and Theology at Global University, I have seen and heard many teachings about the Bible and different doctrines. I have also heard from many people all these lists of ways that one can come to salvation. Many believe that if you do enough good works, God will have a spot in heaven because of your good works. I have heard that if you believe in a god then you will ultimately make it to heaven. Others say if you just believe that there is a God, then you will make it to heaven and there is no obligation to live out a blameless life. All these teachings, claims, ideas, whatever you want to call them, are false. The Bible is very clear that there is only One Way to heaven, there is only One truth that will set you free, there is only one Person who can give you eternal life, and that is the Lord Jesus Christ.

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved” ~Acts 4:12

Peter at this point in the book of Acts is defending his faith against the Sanhedrin (who condemned Jesus to death). The Sanhedrin were ordering Peter and John (two of Jesus’ disciples) to stop preaching in the name of Jesus Christ. Peter and John had just been passing by the Gate Beautiful in Jerusalem and there who a beggar who had been lame all his life. Peter, in the name of Jesus Christ, commanded the beggar to get up and walk. The man was healed by Jesus Christ, and he got up and walked. Now, the Sanhedrin wanted this to stop. They  had just killed Jesus, who had just been doing this very thing (healing the sick, healing the lame and blind, driving out demons, working miracles) and they thought the teachings of Jesus would die out. But what’s this? Now there are two more preaching the same message and working the same miracles! They said to stop and Peter, filled with the Holy Spirit, preaches a convicting message to the Sanhedrin and essentially telling them that they killed the Lord Jesus Christ. In Acts 4:12, Peter makes the very clear statement that there is no other way of salvation except for Jesus Christ. (You can read this whole account in Acts 3-4).

Peter was not speaking out of his own knowledge or opinoion. Jesus Himself had said there very same thing in John 14:6!

“I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” ~John 14:6

Jesus very explicitly says that He alone is the way to the Father. There is no wiggle room for interpretation. Jesus alone can bring you into communion with God. Not good works, not any other religion, not merely believing in God. James says that even the demons believe in God, and they tremble at his name! (James 2:19)

“know that a man is not justified by observing the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ” ~Galatians 2:16

Paul is clear here that it is faith in Jesus Christ that saves us. The Greek actually portrays a channel here in the phrase “by faith in Jesus Christ”. If there is a channel open in a dam, the water runs goes through that open channel. But what happens if that channel is shut off? The water stops flowing, right? That is what Paul says happens to our salvation if we add or take away anything to our faith in Jesus Christ. If we try to add a list of rules to live by to earn our salvation, then we close off salvation. If we don’t put faith in Jesus Christ, we close off the channel to salvation. Jesus Christ alone is our way of salvation! Nothing else! Now, don’t misunderstand. After coming to Christ we do have to do things that maintain a life worthy of the Gospel. The New Testament points this out many times.

“As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received” ~Ephesians 4:1

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge;  and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins. Therefore, my brothers and sisters,make every effort to confirm your calling and election. For if you do these things, you will never stumble, and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ” ~2 Peter 1:5-11

“Now we ask you, brothers and sisters, to acknowledge those who work hard among you, who care for you in the Lord and who admonish you. Hold them in the highest regard in love because of their work. Live in peace with each other. And we urge you, brothers and sisters, warn those who are idle and disruptive, encourage the disheartened, help the weak, be patient with everyone. Make sure that nobody pays back wrong for wrong, but always strive to do what is good for each other and for everyone else. Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not treat prophecies with contempt but test them all; hold on to what is good, reject every kind of evil. May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The One who calls you is faithful, and He will do it.” 1 Thessalonians 5:12-23

Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling” ~Philippians 2:12

These are only a few verses out of the many found in the New Testament that call us to live a holy life and a life worthy of the Gospel. So understand, that as a Christian you are expected to do things that add to your faith, witness to others, and minister to others. However, those things are NOT what save you. Jesus Christ alone is the way of salvation and He alone is the way to the Father. I’d like to encourage you today if you are trying to measure up to some “Christian standard” that you or somebody else has set before you, stop. Christ has already measured up fully to the standard once that bound us. Accept His grace and let Jesus work in your life. Jesus will produce good fruit in your life naturally when you are in relationship with Him. Good work do not result in salvation,good works are a result from salvation. If you do not know the Lord Jesus Christ, I pray that you would take some time today to read some of the Scriptures I posted and through the life of Jesus in the Gospels Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Live free today, Christ has set you free. You are saved by faith in Him. Nothing else.

-Joey

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

7 responses to “What is the way of Salvation?

  • Wayne

    Reblogged this on luvsiesous and commented:
    Joey says that Jesus is the ONLY WAY. Is Jesus the only way? Why can’t I just work my way to Heaven? What makes Jesus better than other prophets?

    Friends, what do you think?

    Wayne

  • T. E. Hanna

    Allow me to probe more deeply… certainly we are saved by Jesus alone, but are we saved by the PERSON or NAME of Jesus? In other words, can a person be saved by the person of Jesus if they come to know Him under another name, or in a context other than Christianity? What do you think?

    • Joey Coons

      That’s an excellent question. Although the name of Jesus Christ has power, He has that power because God the Father has bestowed all authority on His Son because of Jesus’ work on the cross. So it is by the person of Jesus Christ and His physical death that we are saved!

    • Joey Coons

      And no, it is by Jesus’ name alone that we are saved. Not any other “name” or “god”

      • T. E. Hanna

        Clarification… you just said we are saved by the person of Jesus, but now you emphasize the name of Jesus. Can you elaborate on what you mean, because the two seem to be in contradiction.

        The thrust of my question is essentially whether you adopt an inclusivist or exclusivist soteriology.

      • Joey Coons

        Do you mean inclusivist/ exclusvist as in like everyone is welcome to salvation or only select people? I’m not sure I understand your question fully? (You’ll have to forgive me, I’m still working through Bible school, so I’m probably not the most quick at picking up the deep theological questions as I should. Plus, I’m not all that smart anyway :P)

  • Austin Coons

    Reblogged this on austincoons and commented:
    Many people (even ministers) won’t make this claim. Jesus Christ is the only way in which you can get salvation! (John 14:6)

Leave a Reply

