Song Devotional: Where I Belong

The song has been gaining a lot of popularity lately in the Christian music realm. And rightly so. This song is so right on target as far as Biblical focus. The chorus is such a powerful anthem of a prayer that should ring from every believer’s heart.

“All I know is I’m not home yet,

This is not where I belong.

Take this world and give me Jesus,

This is not where I belong” ~Building 429

 

As Christians, our focus should always be on the hope that we are promised. Our hope is not being saved during this life, although that is certainly important. Our hope is not prosperity during this life. Our hope is Jesus Christ coming back to redeem His followers and dwelling with God forever and ever! That is exactly what this song captures! The New Testament is absolutely filled with the focus of the hope that we are waiting for:

“But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.” ~Philippians 3:20

 

“Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul” ~1 Peter 2:11

 

Do you see the focus portrayed here? These are only a few verses of the many that the Bible gives about our future home with Jesus. The early church truly lived their lives expecting Jesus to come back for His church at any moment and continually focused on that promised spot in heaven with Jesus that He Himself has promised His followers. I believe this is why the apostles and so many Christians before our time have been able to stand strong in their faith despite heavy persecution. In fact, Hebrews speaks about that very topic.

“Some faced jeers and flogging, while still others were chained and put in prison. They were stoned; they were sawed in two; they were put to death by the sword. They went about in sheepskins and goatskins, destitute, persecuted and mistreated— the world was not worthy of them. They wandered in deserts and mountains, and in caves and holes in the ground. These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised. God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect.” ~Hebrews 11:36-40

As you can see, God’s people before us did not always have an easy time in this life. It was hard. It was rough. It was unbearable at times. But they never lost their faith. They never lost their focus. They knew that they had something better waiting for them. They may have never seen the promise, but they still held strong to it.

“When the earth shakes

I wanna be found in You

When the lights fade

I wanna be found in You” ~Building 429

 

The bridge of this song drives home the point that all that matters is in the end is whether or not you are with Jesus. Will Jesus say, “Good job, good and faithful servant” or “Depart from Me. I never knew you.”

I want to encourage you today to set your eyes on heaven! Paul charges Christians to set your mind on heaven.

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on early things.” ~Colossians 3:1-2

Paul is saying don’t let this life trap you. He is not saying don’t have a job, relationships, activities, etc. He is saying don’t be so consumed with the things of this world that you can’t give them up. None of this matters in the end unless you are working towards heaven. Worldly things will pass away. Material things will pass away. God will never pass away and His children will reign with Him forever and ever. So today really begin to seek God and turn your focus on your future hope, Jesus Christ coming back to redeem us forever! Stand strong to the end and you will be with Jesus forever! I pray that this blog encourages you today!

-Joey

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

5 responses to “Song Devotional: Where I Belong

Leave a Reply

