A Call to Anguish

God used this sermon by David Wilkerson to really speak to me about my commitment to Him and my prayer life a while back from now. This is a shortened version, but I encourage you to listen to all of this sermon on Youtube. Just search “A Call To Anguish” on Youtube. Allow your heart to be open to what God would speak to you.

-Joey

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

6 responses to “A Call to Anguish

  • Austin Coons

    Reblogged this on austincoons and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  • adifferenceforyourlovedones

    I was all day on face book, counseling, and that is exactly how I feel: Anguished! I didn’t think of that word at the time. It is horrible the pain people have, they lies they live, the religions they follow- I am not even talking of all the lost only, but also the Christians, who should KNOW better! We blend in the world, adapt to the world eagerly and they rebuke people, who want to bring the truth, since they feel they have the “freedom” to have their tattoos, don’t HAVE to be in church on Sunday, since they can worship anywhere……….
    I am devastated at the avalanche of indifference. All we can do is pray and realize God and we, whose righteousness is in Jesus, make a majority. Your post has clarified my thoughts and renewed my zeal to make this world a better place. God bless you!

  • Anne Sikes

    So good…and so true. I’m guilty too. How many times I have said to God, “I just want to be happy…please God…just let me have some happiness while I’m here in this world!” I’m being convicted a lot lately about some of my ways of indifference as well, or my ways of timidity rather than the boldness I should have…not out of arrogance…but if I truly care about the souls of the people I say I care about, then why am I not boldly speaking up…with the anguish that David Wilkerson’s talking about here?

    David Wilkerson spoke at my home town in Texas years ago, back in the 70’s. I was in high school at the time, and still remember that revival. I do see the problem…and the music, or “entertainment” in the churches he was speaking of is something very real these days. I love the Christian bands and the newer music…love the old hymns too, mind you. But a lot of it is more of an entertainment thing, and meant to make us feel good. Not all of it. And ‘prosperity preachers’, telling people God wants them to be rich and have all the things their hearts desire. “I’m a King’s kid…I deserve to be treated like a princess and showered with lovely and wonderful gifts!” It’s just a wrong message.

    Thank you so much for posting this. I appreciate your prayers for me as I seek to get my heart right, and my walk back to a closer place. God bless you! Anne

    • Joey Coons

      I truly wish he was still around to deliver powerful messages, but God called him home. I pray that God will rise up another generation of Godly, Spirit anointed preachers!

Leave a Reply

