Hope in Christ and Purpose in Life

I know I haven’t posted in a few weeks, and I apologize for that. Between trying to finish classes, play shows with my band, work, church obligations, and other activities I have not been able to set apart the time to write a blog. This blog will be relatively short, but I want to write about what has been on my heart this weekend.

The biggest goal for the band I am part of  (Turnaround) is to express two main hopes to every audience we play for; that hope can be found in Jesus Christ alone and that everyone has purpose in life.

I see and hear of so many people that want to put their faith in the things of this life. Family, friends, jobs, status, relationships, money, power. We as humans are so quick to put all of our stock in these things. But let me ask you something, what are you going to do when they fall through? What happens when the stock market crashes and your money is suddenly gone? What happens when your best friend suddenly turns their back on you and has nothing to do with you? What happens when you find out that your boyfriend or girlfriend no longer loves you? I’m not saying that these things will happen to you, nor am I trying to say that having material things in this life is bad. Material things are not bad! They are a blessing from Jesus! But those things are NOT Jesus and they cannot take His place. The only way you will fine fulfillment in life is through Jesus Christ. He alone can restore peace and salvation to your life and bring you into communion with God once again.

By the same coin, nobody is hear by accident. The Bible says God knew you before you were even born.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart” ~Jeremiah 1:5

God knew each and everyone of us before we were born. He knew exactly when we would be born, where we would be born, where we would travel up until this point in life, and will continue to know where are going. He is never out of the loop. He knows what we are going through, and we already has our life planned for us. We only have to accept that He wants that for us and conform to His will. That is not an easy task. I’d be a liar if I told you that the Christian life is an easy road to take. Jesus says “You will be handed over to be persecuted and put to death, and you will be hated by all nations because of me.” (Matthew 24:9) Those of us who live in the United States have rarely seen death for our faith, but it is not uncommon around the world. People die everyday for the sake of Christ. So what keeps them in their faith with God? God’s promise that He has a plan for them, He works everything for the good of those who love Him, and He will never leave them nor forsake them. It is not an easy road. Jesus described they way to heaven as a narrow gate that few will find. But it is so worth it.  God’s purpose for us is to be in communion with Him forever, but it’s up to us to choose that.

Like I said, this is a short blog, but I feel it is to the point. I want everyone I come into contact with to know that Jesus is their hope and they have purpose in this life. Nobody is worthless, purposeless, and unloved. Jesus Christ loves you, He died to save you because He says you are worth it, and He wants to give you a purpose that only He can reveal to you. I hope this message encourages you. If you’d like to know more about the band I am part of here are the links you can get connected with us:

www.turnaroundband.com

www.facebook.com/turnaroundband

www.twitter.com/turnaroundband

www.onesheet.com/turnaround

Feel free to contact us if you have questions, struggles, need prayer, or just need to talk. We will talk with you. We care about all of you and we want to see you in heaven when Jesus comes back to redeem His saints. God bless you!

-Joey

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

One response to “Hope in Christ and Purpose in Life

Leave a Reply

