God’s Righteousness

I had a good time working through the Book of Romans in one of my recent classes for Bible school and thought I would share what I learned with all my readers!

The righteousness of God is often categorized as the main theme in the Book of Romans. “For in the gospel (of Jesus Christ) a righteousness form God is revealed, a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written: “the righteous will live by faith” (Romans 1:17 NIV, parentheses added).  Paul major theme is that everything God does is just and right. To act rightly is part of His very nature.

It Romans 1:16-17, God’s righteousness is revealed. Paul highlights the righteousness that was given by God, the Gospel message of His Son Jesus Christ (1:16). The Gospel, or “good news”, bewildered the people. Jews demanded to see wondrous signs and the Greeks desired wisdom. A crucified Christ did not make sense in the mind of neither the Greek nor Jew. The Greeks ridiculed it and Christ became a stumbling block to the Jew. Although this message was contrary to many people’s thinking, God had a righteous plan. He is right in all of His ways and decisions. What many saw as a display of weakness in the Cross was actually God’s demonstration of righteousness and power.

Paul moves on in Romans 1:19-3:20 to explain the righteousness of God’s judgment and the need for a righteous Savior. He says that God’s power and divinity is evident through nature itself. Therefore, there is no excuse for any man to not respond to God (1:19-20). Because of this truth, God is right to judge everybody by the same standard. “All who sin apart from the law will also perish apart from the law, and all who sin under the law will be judged by the law” (2:12). So whether you are a Gentile (apart from the law) or Jew (under the law), God will judge evenhandedly. It’s not those who hear God’s law that are declared right before Him, “but those who obey the law” (2:13). There is nobody who can declare righteousness before God, so how can anyone be before God? Paul answers this in the next section of Romans.

Romans 3:21-3:31 addressed God’s provision for sinful man. Jesus comes the way of righteousness to those who accept Him by faith. Because nobody could live up to the perfect standard of the law, God made a way possible to be righteous apart from the law (3:21) and it is by faith in His son Jesus Christ (3:22). Paul says that everyone has sinned and falls short of God’s glory, but Jesus Christ freely justifies those who put their faith in Him. (3:23-24). Jesus did this in order to be a sacrifice for us, so that we would not have to face God’s wrath.  God provided this gracious way of salvation to demonstrate His justness and His righteousness to mankind.

The entirety of Romans 4 is all about righteousness by faith. Paul uses the great Old Testament figure Abraham as a model for this. “It was not through law that Abraham and his offspring received the promise that he would be heir of the world, but through the righteousness that comes by faith” (4:13). Paul makes the point that the law was not in effect at the time of Abraham. Abraham did not have any law to guide his life before God. Abraham believed and obeyed God; “it was credited to him as righteousness” (4:1). Abraham was not called to obey a list of rules, but rather to believe and obey God.

Paul exhibits the righteousness of God by in Romans 5:1-8:39 by showing what God righteousness looks like in the way of holiness. Scripture states that because Christians are justified by faith, peace is now available between man and God. Not only that, but there is joy even in suffering because of the future that God has in store for everyone who keeps with in Christ (5:1-5). “For we know that our old self was crucified with Him so that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin”  (6:6). Through Christ, life is no longer a hopeless struggle, but a victorious, free life. Believers are no longer slaves to death, but rather slaves to God (6:22). God also gave the Holy Spirit to believers to empower them to live life in this freedom. “But if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live” (8:13). By the Spirit the Christian is able to put to death the sinful desires and live free.

Paul shows God’s vindication of His righteousness in Romans 9-11:36 by showing God’s divine grace despite human unbelief. Israel was once God’s chosen people, but they rejected the Messiah, Jesus Christ. So God then made His grace and love available to the Gentiles. It would seem that God made a mistake or had given up on His chosen people. However, Paul puts a stop to any claim to this thinking. Paul explains that just like the time of Elijah, there is a remnant of Jews who are still faithful to God, and God will show them grace and mercy. Those who remain faithful to God are going to enter in God’s kingdom just like the Gentiles who are faithful to God (11:1-5).

In my own personal life, God’s righteousness becomes evident to me more every day that I walk with Him. There has been many times in my life that I did not think God was leading me down the right path. There were times I was upset with God because something didn’t go my way. In the end, God reminds me that He works all things together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. God has also been right in my life and will continue to be right in my life for eternity. I am so very thankful that God made a way of righteousness available to me so that I may enter into relation with Him. To me, that is the ultimate display of love from God.

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

8 responses to “God’s Righteousness

  • Freedomborn

    Hi Joey, a good message of Victory in Christ Jesus thank you. When Paul talked about his wordly flesh in Romans 7 it was before he was perfected in Love, we see this in his assertion later that He had finished the race which was before he died, he tells us he had achieved the crown of righteousness and so had others. In Romans 6 & 8 and other Scriptures He explains how to be perfected in Love, as you said we need to put our evil flesh Nature to death Colossians 3: 1-17.

    Jesus who was God the Son and was concieved by The Holy Spirit, also had the outer flesh as we have with all it’s limitations, He showed us that in Him we are set free from the evil flesh Nature when we are Born again, as you can see below, we are no longer wrenched as Paul called himself at that time, we are a Royal Priesthood, a People belonging to God, a Holy Nation, our old flesh nature is gone and we have God’s Nature, and the mind of Christ, the New has come and we have been set free and no temptation will be greater then we can bear , we also do what is righteous, even as Jesus is righteous – 1 John 3: 7

    1John 3 : 9 No one who is Born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been Born of God.

    John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

    2Corinthians 13:11 Finally, brethren, farewell. Be perfect, be of good comfort, be of one mind, live in Peace; and the God of Love and Peace shall be with you.

    1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

  • Freedomborn

    Hi again Joey, it’s good that you listen for God’s voice, most depend on their own understanding or others. We know we have one Teacher Jesus Christ and by the empowering of The Holy Spirit He teaches us all things. Jesus tells us He is the only way to God, the remanent of the Jews that will be saved will be the same as us, they will be circumcised by the Spirit in other words they will all repent and accept Jesus Christ as their Lord and Saviour, there is no other way to be saved and when we are saved as you shared we will show we are.

    We continue to share God’s Truth Joey because for us it is as natural as breathing regardless of how others respond but we do so under God’s Authority and anointing and His Teaching not man’s. Jesus said ask and you will receive and believe you have received and so we ask for God’s wisdom ( see below ) and then we know His Truth and it sets us free from the bondage and slavery of sin because we realise it no longer has control, we keep the law not because we have to but because we can be no other way when we are Born again of God’s seed and perfected in Love.

    Romans 3:31 Do we then make void the law through faith? God forbid: yea, we establish the law.

    John 14: 6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

    Blog Link – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/05/07/the-gaining-of-wisdom/

    Thank you for letting me share from my heart Joey, may you be greatly blessed.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  • Freedomborn

    So very True Joey, a powerful , wonderful reality and there is no eraser when we are Born again of God’s seed… How good is that!

    1John 3 : 9 No one who is Born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been Born of God.

    Thank you – Anne.

  • Anne

    Sorry Joey it seems I cannot join up with you regardless of what e-mail address I use and this is the same if I’m loged in or not.

    I don’t use Facebook or do I want to, I had to many problems with it I will visit you though – Take care – Anne

Leave a Reply

