Song Devotional: This Is The Stuff

Do you ever feel like you have those days that nothing seems to go right? You spent your whole night waking up instead of sleeping. You spill your milk at breakfast. Lose your cell phone and you have to go out the door at that very moment. You find your phone, but now you can’t find your car keys. You are late for work (or school), so you are speeding and as a result you get a speeding ticket. The list could go on and on. One of my favorite artists, Francesca Battistelli wrote a song about this very thing. The little things God uses to make us grow.

 

“I lost my keys, in the great unknown. Call me please cause I can’t find my phone.” ~Francesca Battistelli 

 

That is the opening line of the song “This is the Stuff” by Francesca Battistelli. I love the song because of how relevant it is to anyone. EVERYBODY has had a day where they have lost something that is very important. I know for me it’s a constant battleday in and day out. I can never find my cell phone, keys, wallet, or iPod. Usually more than one of those at a time as well.

 

“45 in a 35. Sirens and fines while I’m running behind.” ~Francesca Battistelli

 

Her next verse starts with a line that a lot of drivers can relate to. You are running behind, so you feel you need to go faster so that you can make it to your destination on time. Only problem is that cop sitting in the parking lot you just flew by doesn’t feel the same way. Bam! You have a ticket laying on your front seat now that you have to pay.

 

The bridge and chorus of this song really get to the crux of the topic of the song:

 

“So break me of impatience. Conquer my frustrations. I’ve got a new appreciation. It’s not the end of the world

 

 This is the stuff that drives me crazy

This is the stuff Someone save me

In the middle of my little mess

I forget how big I’m blessed

This is the stuff that gets under my skin

And I’ve gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing

It might not be what I would choose

But this is the stuff You use” ~Francesca Battistelli 

 

How often do we actually think that God is going to use the little things that drive us crazy for our greater good? I mean really? When we get a ticket, do we think it’s the cop being a jerk or God telling us to obey the law? When we lost the keys and are frustrated, maybe it’s so God can teach us patience and how to rely on Him to help find them (and possibly put them in a safe place!).

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” ~Romans 8:28

 

Paul nails it right on the head in Romans 8:28. God is constantly working things out in our lives for our good. Everything in our life is meant to better us and draw us closer to Him. That includes the things that seem stupid or silly to us like losing our keys. God cares about every aspect of our lives and He wants us to surrender everything to Him. Even those things that seems ridiculous! This song really reminds me of that truth and the next time things happen that make me mad, remembering that God is in control and has it all worked out. So breathe, pray, and rely on God! He uses the things that drive us crazy to mold us to His greater purpose! Blessings!

 

 

-Joey

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

3 responses to “Song Devotional: This Is The Stuff

Leave a Reply

