Song Devotional: You Are Good

As I worship leader, there are so many worship songs that I am familiar with and relate to differently. Kari Jobe’s song “You Are Good” is such an awesome reflection of God’s character. The first thing God said after making all creation is “It is good” and said “it is very good” when He created man. Why? Because God is good. All the time! Goodness is part of God’s very character and nothing about Him is NOT good! In this song, the words are very simple, but an amazing reminder of God’s grace, love, and kindness.

“Your kindness leads me to repentance. Your goodness draws me to Your side. Your mercy calls me to be like You. Your favor is my delight” ~Kari Jobe (You Are Good)

Notice the wording here. The words do not express things we do for God or things about us that make us worthy in God’s sight. Rather, it is everything about God Himself that draws us to Him! HIS kindness of accepting us (even when we don’t deserve it) and love that was shown on the Cross of Jesus Christ is what leads us to repentance. It is HIS goodness that draws us to Him. Makes sense, right? How many times are you drawn to something that doesn’t seem good to you? Granted, you can be draw into something that isn’t good, but only because you think it is good at the time. Because of God’s great mercy, we want to be like Him! As Christians it is the cry of our heart to be like our God! Then when we are found in God’s favor, it brings delight to our heart.

“Everyday I’ll awaken my praise and pour out a song from my heart.”

This pre-chorus leading into the chorus is so fitting because it takes what is expressed in the verse, and brings action. Because of what God has done for us and who He is to us, we CHOOSE to praise Him and unleash a song from the very depths of our hearts!

“You are good, You are good, You are good and Your mercy is forever”

Then, the chorus is just a simple declaration that God is good. I love songs that go into deep theoloical truths, but sometimes I think as Christians we overlook the very obvious and simple wordings of truths. I think it’s good to reflect on attributes of God in simple ways that just really free us up to worship without having to think of the next words or the right melody. “You Are Good” contains simple words, with simple structure that leads into worship. God is good, and His mercy endures forever. “Yahweh is good, and His love is eternal; His faithfulness endures through all generations.” ~Psalm 100:5 (Holman Christian Standard Version)

 

“Your kindness is forever, Your goodness is forever, Your mercy is forever, forever”

The bridge continues the building of worship by just focusing of God being constant forever and ever. That is enough to bring worship to any true disciple’s hearts! I pray that you will take this song with you and use it in worship to the Lord. Lead the song in church, sing it in your prayer time, and just really think of the words and why God is good to you. It’s nothing that is a new concept, nothing complex, or profound, but foundational to the Christian faith. God bless and Merry Christmas everyone!

-Joey

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

Leave a Reply

