The Blood of Jesus Christ

I started reading a book by Watchman Nee called Normal Christian Life. So far I have only read the first chapter, but within that first chapter something really stuck out to me. He said “a clear conscience is never based upon our attainment; it can only be based on the work of the Lord Jesus in the shedding of His Blood”. The entire first chapter is about the Blood of Jesus Christ and how it applies to the life of a Christian. I thought that the chapter laid out beautifully what the Blood of Christ truly means to us as followers of Christ.

The chapter starts first by pointing out that the Blood of Jesus really isn’t so much for us, as it is for God. Now at first reading you may say, “Hold on a minute, the Blood of Christ is what saves me!” Yes that is very true and Nee is not dismissing that very important truth. What he means is that the only way God pardons our sin is if He sees the Blood of Jesus paying for the debt of our sin. Think about the Israelites when God commanded them to eat the Passover lamb inside the house, but spread the blood of the lamb on the doorposts. Then, when God passed over Egypt on the Passover night, God would see the blood and pardon the household. This is the same with us and the Blood of Christ. When God sees the Blood of Christ applied to our hearts, He can forgive and pardon our sin because of the great sacrifice of Jesus. So consequently, the amount we value Christ’s Blood is directly linked to the value that God values the Blood.

After realizing the value of the Blood, it is crucial that we base our life around that. Without the Blood of Christ, we can not go into the Presence of God without fear and shame. On the Day of Atonement in the Old Testament, the high priest alone was to go into the Most Holy Place to offer the sin offering to God. As it is with Christ. He is our High Priest who applies His blood to our sin to make retribution before God. When we allow this to become true in our everyday life, then it shapes our entire relationship with God. Some days I can feel really connected with God. I read my Bible and get a lot out of my reading. I feel like really connect with God in prayer and hear from Him. I am able to reflect the love of Christ well. I feel like I’m serving God well. Other days, it can be just the opposite. I don’t feel the same connection during my Bible reading or prayer time. I don’t reflect Christ’s love well. I may be mean or nasty. But listen to this: our standing before God is not based on our works, our merits, how we feel, or anything we can furnish. It is by the Blood of Jesus that we are able to be seen as forgiven by God! Do not allow the way you feel ditate how you think your relationship with God is based. It is only by the Blood of Jesus that we have relationship with God!

It is very easy as Christians to allow ourselves to get beat up when we fall short of the glory of God. We believe the lie that we have to earn our way into God’s love or we have to preform for God to be accepted. But praise be to God that it’s not about what I  can do, it’s about what I can’t do. Only Jesus can bring me back into restored relationship with Jesus. When we try to base our status with God on anything other than the sacrificial Blood of Jesus, we play right into Satan’s schemes.  The Bible calls Satan the Accuser. His tricks aren’t new. He has used the same tricks all through history; lying and accusing. He will try to accuse us of our sin before God and lie to us saying that we are failures and can’t be forgiven. By ourselves, we are failures and we can’t be forgiven. We can’t save ourselves. But by the Blood of Jesus I am redeemed and by His grace I can be pardoned of all my sin!

I pray that as you read this blog, you will ponder in your own heart whether or not you are applying the Blood of Jesus to your life. Does it really impact your everyday life, or is it more than a passing thought. I encourage as the Lord to reveal more of Himself to you, and share His value of His Son’s Blood with you. He is faithful and He will draw near to you when YOU DRAW NEAR TO HIM! As always, I pray this blog encourages you or helps you! Blessings!

Joey

About Joey Coons

21 years old! God is the absolute center of my life. I love Jesus and I am passionate about my relationship with God. I am going to school for ministry at Global University. I feel God is calling me to minister to the youth of this generation, but I am willing to go wherever God calls me. My Bible is the source for everything. I have learned a lot lately about waiting on God and how hard it really is. But it ALWAYS the way to go. Listen for God's voice and obey Him. I am in an a band, Turnaround, and I love it. I am so excited to see what God does with us and I hope to uplift Christ with our music to everyone who hears us. God has surrounded me with amazing people in my life. You could probably say I have an obsession with music. I have the absolute weirdest taste in music. I listen to Christian music because I want to reflect God in all that I do in life. I love almost any genre of music. Except country, you can keep that junk... I am extremely goofy, and I mean VERY goofy I normally don't shut up if you start talking to me, I'm a talker Even though I never thought of myself as a reader, I actually love to read. My main purpose for this blog is to communicate God's truth and encourage anyone who reads my posts. I pray that God will use my words that I write to speak HIs truth into the lives of others and encourage others to follow Jesus Christ. View all posts by Joey Coons

13 responses to “The Blood of Jesus Christ

  • admin

    There is nothing more powerful than the blood of Jesus. Thanks for sharing. 😀

  • Joe Putnam

    Hi Joey, I really enjoyed this post, and I’m happy that you’re getting so much out of “The Normal Christian Life.” I look forward to reading more about what you’ve enjoyed from the book.

    • Joey Coons

      Thanks Joe! I hope to find the time to both finish the book and write a little more in the next few weeks!

      • Joe Putnam

        I haven’t been able to finish it either but it’s on my list for 2013. Have you ever heard of “The Character of the Lord’s Worker” by Watchman Nee? It’s one of my favorite books.

      • Joey Coons

        No I do not believe I have! Ill have to look into it! My current list to read is “The Normal Christian Life” and “Sit, Walk,Stand” by Watchman Nee, “Erasing Hell” by Francis Chan, and “The Great Divorce” by C.S. Lewis.

  • John-Paul

    I appreciate that our coming to God is never baed on our merits or even our feelings. It is based entirely on the precious blood of Jesus. God knows the value and effectiveness of this blood, and through faith in this blood we can come forward to God with boldness.

    In my experience, having a proper appreciation of the blood of Christ, and God’s view of this blood, really stabilizes my Christian walk.

    Thanks for the encouraging post.

    • Joey Coons

      Agreed! I think when that view is taking in our walks with Christ, it really frees us to truly worship Him! Because its not about what we’ve done, but what He did for us!

  • Tom Smith

    I really like what you said about the Blood being firstly for God. Who can have a greater appreciation for the Blood of Jesus, than the Father who willingly offered up His Son for us all. I like this point, “…the amount we value Christ’s Blood is directly linked to the value that God values the Blood.” Sometimes, I like to pray, “Father, deal with me according to Your supreme value of the Blood of Jesus Your Son.” In Him, God sees us as being as His own Son.

    I really enjoyed the post. I recently finished reading the Normal Christian Life. I encourage you to keep reading, but it’s not one of those books that goes quick. But you may find it helpful to put a copy somewhere you frequent often and just read a page or even a paragraph. Then stop and pray over what you’ve just read. It’s one of those books you don’t want to rush.

    • Tom Smith

      At the end of my first paragraph, I meant that in Christ, God sees us as being as righteous as His Son is. Thanks again for the post.

    • Joey Coons

      I’ve been reading a chapter every few days when all is quiet and I have no distractions. Every chapter has blown my mind. Nee really brought out what the Scripture says about Christian life. I am very excited to continue reading on in this book! Thank you for the post and encouragement!

  • Freedomborn

    Hi Joey, thankyou for your message, this one like your others has Truth and Hope. If we are in Christ Jesus we will walk as He did our sins are indeed forgiven but we have also been set free so we don’t sin, as you can see below when we are Born ahgain we have God’s seed meaning His Spirit, His nature and if we have the mind of Christ we don’t choose to sin, and when we are perfected in Love, we can’t sin… How good is that! no more bondage.

    1 John 3:1-11 (9) No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God.

    1John 4:16-17 And we have known and believed the Love that God hath to us. God is Love; and he that dwelleth in Love dwelleth in God, and God in him. Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world

    Christian Love Anne.

Leave a Reply

